[WWW] [Core Python Programming]
Home

Documentation

Code Samples

Install Python

Publisher Info

Table of
Contents

Sample Chapter
(PDF)

Errata

Give Feedback

View Guestbook

Reviews

CPP Training

 

Hotlist

Python FAQ

Quick Reference

README

CREDITS

Philosophy

Author Resume

BOOK REVIEWS

  • IBM Developer Works (May 2002)

  • Linux Journal (May 2001)

  • Association of C & C++ Users (April 2001)


    PYTHON.ORG BOOKSTORE WEBSITE

    Very well written. It is the clearest, friendliest book I have come across yet for explaining Python, and putting it in a wider context. It does not presume a large amount of other experience. It may be too slow for more advanced people, but it does go into some important Python topics carefully and in depth. Unlike too many beginner books, it never condescends or tortures the reader with childish hide-and-seek prose games. Not too many in-depth realworld examples in the book [hopefully he will do a followup volume], it sticks to gaining a solid grasp of Python syntax and structure.

    AMAZON

    (NOTE: these are all the reviews from Amazon.com, unbiased: good and not so good.)

    ***** Easy read to get you up and running, January 10, 2005
    Reviewer: Patrick Lacson from Santa Clara, CA USA
    I've been a big fan of the Core programming books, including the Core Java volumen 1/2 series. This book I found while skimming my local library and decided to give this little language a try. I understand that this is an "outdated" book that covers Python 2.0, the latest being 2.4.x as of this writing. However, the material covered in this book is still very valuable.

    The author does a good job of introducing the language and arguing why Python should grab your interest as an easy to read, easy to maintain, easy to learn language. Several chapters into the book, without writing a single line of code, I could already understand exactly what the code is doing. Python, as taught in this book, sells itself as a very understandable language.

    Furthermore, the book provides excercises in the end of each chapter that helps you think in Python when trying to solve the problems. If you've really studied the chapters, the solution to these questions will seem very obvious. As the Python adage goes, "there's only one obvious way of doing it."

    The overall format of this book should be a model for how new languages are treated. Get this book if you want to add Python to your programming tool chest. If you're already familiar with one programming language you'll be writing productive scripts in a matter of hours. If this is your first language, in the order of days!

    ***** Good book for beginning Python programmers, March 23, 2004
    Reviewer: djspin80 from Chicago, IL
    Definitely worth 5 stars. The book clearly explains its purpose, and the author makes his methodologies known in the beginning as to how he will approach teaching the language. His explanations are clear and concise, and it does not contradict the DOCS available on the Python web site. He's both humorous and informative, with a relaxed style of writing.

    The code in itself is neatly organized, clearly explained, and overall, it works. He does cover a lot of Python basics, the majority of the book are Python basics. He also covers advanced topics such as network programming, extending Python through C/C++ modules, and multithreading. All of which are important, being able to write distributed applications, writing responsive programs, and being able to extend the language are all equally important. Python's power is clearly explained and logically thought-out in this book. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to learn Python but are new to programming.

    As a side note, I would also take extra time and check out the DOCS themselves. The author is good, but by no means perfect, supplement the book with the DOCS, it'll help you out a lot more. I have plans on writing more complicated web services using Python, and this book will remain beside me as both a reference and a guide when I'm lost.

    ***** clear explanations of basic concepts make it a winner, November 25, 2003
    Reviewer: Stephen Ferg from Arlington, VA
    I have been programming in Python for a couple of years. "Core" has been on my bookshelf, but I didn't consult it much until I wanted to learn CGI ("Web") programming, and thought I would see what I could find in it.

    It was a revelation! The explanations of basic concepts are very clear, yet short and to the point, and cover all of the basic information. As one example, the explanation of client-server architecture in the chapter on network programming really gives you the basic concepts. I am extremely impressed.

    So I think this book would be a very good choice for someone in the beginner to intermediate range. In my case, I'm in the intermediate category for some topics, but for some topics I am a complete beginner. So this book was just what I needed.

    The explanations are so clear and well-written that it is easy to give "Core" 5 stars. I suggest that you ignore the reviews that complain about the big type. The big type makes the book a pleasure to read: as one reviewer said, you can just sit down and read this book, even if you're not in front of your computer. The only disadvantage to the big type is that it might give a prospective buyer the impression that this book is not as solid as it really is.

    *** could be reduced in size with normal type, July 18, 2003
    Reviewer: Sameer from San Antonio, TX
    Decent text, but watch out, you might think you are getting a lot of information after looking at the size of the book, as it's 1000+ pages. Do keep in mind that this book could be condensed to half it's size or less if the type was reduced to a normal level.

    Overall, this book can be read by a wide range of audiences, from the beginner, to well...somewhat of an expert, as it covers some of the "advanced" topics like gui programming and threading. Most likely, this book will be most appealing to a intermediate level Pythonite. There are juicier picks out there in the same price range, like Python Essential Reference, but if you want to exhaustively complete your python library, this book is not a bad buy.

    ***** I learned to program with this book, July 16, 2003
    Reviewer: Stephen Aichele from Ojai, CA
    A few years ago, I had the privelege to take a Python class (my first programming class) with Wesley Chun. This book had not yet gone to print, but we were using photocopied chapters as our text for the class. At the time, I poured myself into learning the language, and now I am extremely grateful that I chose Python as the first language to learn and had this book to learn from!

    The exercises can be quite challenging, and the text needs editing in places, but overall it's very clear and consistent throughout. (If you already are a programmer, you shouldn't have much difficulty getting a handle on what's going on from the examples). This book also makes a fantastic reference - there are times when I have referred to it more often than the Python reference itself.

    The Python language induces good programming habits, and this book really brings this quality to light. A great first language to learn, and a great book to learn with.

    Note: I'd also love to see a Part II dealing with more advanced material (particularly async network programming, AI, and even more web programming).

    ***** A great book..., January 17, 2003
    Reviewer: kyle12345678 from Whitehouse Station, NJ
    One of the best python books I've read-- topped only by Python Bible 2.1. Core Python Programming is a great resource dealing with the main language and many modules.

    ***** King of the Lot, December 27, 2002
    Reviewer: tmg from Charlotte, NC
    A simple test. If you own a slew of reference books on Python (as I do), consider which one you reach for most often while programming? My answer is this book by Wesley Chun. The authors conversational style and the books clear and consistent layout make this a pleasure as a reference. Here's to hoping Wesley Chun publishes a Volume 2 dealing with advanced topics (especially given the new language features added since publication). This is one of the few books dealing with ANY programming language that can justify a [$$] price tag. If you are not using this as a text book you are cheating your students. And cheating is not cool.

    ***** Good book for every one. - From beginer to advanced level, February 4, 2002
    Reviewer: Nirmal from Bangalore, India
        I started book reading Acknowledgements,Where i found name of Guido Van Rossum, creator of Python in Technical Review Panel of this book. That itself establishes the credibility.
        I recommend Python as the first object oriented program to learn, for that this book is defintely worth. Author explains everything in a very simple manner, including how the language modules itself are constructed.
        Explaining data structured related to language is basic requirement for any programming book - This book does exceptionaly well in this. I personally liked the part - Extending Python.Also this book covers JPython - Java avatar of Python.

    ***** Highly recommended for beginners, January 13, 2002
    Reviewer: Paul T. Ammann from New Fairfield, CT
    For the last few months I was developing in Perl. But I found myself very frustrated with the syntax, and the Perl books on the market did a so-so job on explaining how everything worked.
        And then I came across this book. I had read a review about in the Linux Journal. In 2 days I "inhaled" 200+ pages of this book, about 7 chapters. To begin with, this book is easy to understand, has numerous examples to go long with the text, and does an excellent job in progessing through Python.
        The first 400 pages cover syntax, style, functions, classes, modules, etc. If you've ever programmed in another language (C, C++, Java, Perl), Mr. Chun compares Python to each of them in simularities and differences. You should be pick up on these quite easily. The last part of the book in more advanced topics, which I found quite enjoyable.
        I don't program in Perl anymore. After reading this book, I wonder why I didn't look at Python first. Aside from a book on Tkinter, this is the only book that I keep on my desk. It's great for teaching and learning, but makes a great reference book also.

    **** Too much for beginners -- not enough for advanced, December 17, 2001
    Reviewer: Troy W Cooper (Marlow) from Coquille, OR
    The author goes into goes into a lot of detail regarding strings, numbers, lists and and like. In fact, it's so much detail that most beginners might feel overwhelmed. But it's reasonable for a person with some experience. The only problem is that the advanced topics are given less detail than I would have liked. Networking, regular expressions, and the like do not get as much attention as I would have liked.

    ***** good all around python book - great to learn from, December 14, 2001
    Reviewer: Corey Goldberg from Boston, MA
    This book is an excellent read for someone new to python but with some other programming knowledge. This was my first exposure to Python (coming from PERL) and I found this book very helpful. The author explains things very thoroughly and intuitively. He writes a lot of prose and not just all code examples, but good explanations also. I found myself reading this most times without a computer in front of me. So by the time I actually sat down and dug into the syntax, I was already very familiar with the basic concepts of the language. It touches on most subjects I was looking for. It may not be for the extreme beginner or as the end-all reference for gurus, but for us in between its just whats needed. this is easily one of the better programming books I've read.

    *** Try another book, November 20, 2001
    Reviewer: MR D J Crawford from Kingston Upon Thames, Surrey, UK
    The main fault of this book is that it is very verbose. The author constantly repeats himself. Whoever edited it did a very poor job. The book should either be shorter/cheaper or have more useful content. Its not a bad book but there must be something better out there. Essential Python and Python Developers Handbook look worth trying.

    ***** An excellent introduction to Python, October 3, 2001
    Reviewer: tanabata from West Jordan, UT
    This book is an excellent introduction to the Python scripting language. It may be a little slow for you if you are already familiar with other programming or scripting languages, but I think you will still learn some important things.
        One comment on the 1 star review. Programming does involve math. In order to do really exciting things, math is a must. Giving a book one star because the author uses too many math examples is like rating a movie poorly because the director put too much acting in it.

    * He is a Mathematician, August 1, 2001
    Reviewer: David Elliott Sewell from San Francisco, CA
    I am interested in python mostly for it's similiarity to perl and the language's usefulness in systems administration. This book has a lot of math in it. It is just ok.

    **** a little too basic for an experienced programmer, May 16, 2001
    Reviewer: karthik from India
    If you have been coding in another programming language and if it's OO as well, then you can pick up the python syntax from the tutorial that comes along with the release or tons of web sites can teach you the same. It's pretty straight forward. I have to say here that this book is very weak on the advanced concepts. There are'nt many interesting examples in "advanced topics". I c'd finish it off in a week's time. I think this book is a little too expensive for it's content. If they c'd slash the price then this book is recommended for it covers the basics pretty well.

    ***** best intro to python, March 4, 2001
    Reviewer: A reader from Unterweikertshofen, Germany
    If you do not know python or have only immediate knowledge then get this book. it explains all the python concepts in a clear and easy to follow way. I think it is much better than "Learning Python" from Oreilly or the ugly "Python in 24 hours". If you want to learn python, you should consider buying this book. Besides Addison-Wesleys Book "Programming Ruby - A pragmatic programmers guide", this is one of the best introductions to a language I have come across.

    **** I agree with the reader from Menlo Park, CA, February 4, 2001
    Reviewer: A reader from Sunny So-Cal (beats living in cold Menlo Park)
    The author's writing style is very similar to Bruce Eckel's. Both authors present somewhat abstract concepts in a clear and concise way that makes reading their material enjoyable. I highly recommend this book for any novice programmer wanting to learn Python. Chun does a good job explaining OOP concepts, so if you only have experience with a procedural language (C, Pascal, etc.)don't worry. If you are a programming expert, purist, guru, or OOP king you may find this book a bit long and shallow.:)

    **** Not bad, January 21, 2001
    Reviewer: A reader from Menlo Park, CA
    This is written in the style of Bruce Eckel's books on C++ and Java. If you liked those, then you will probably like this one. Written in an accessible prose style, it covers the language syntax in exhaustive detail. It's weaker on applications, with a thin discussion of GUI and Web programming. If you have programmed in Java or C++, this is not a bad choice (though, personally, I prefer PYTHON ESSENTIAL REFERENCE, which is much terser).

    **** good book, January 11, 2001
    Reviewer: zmanz
    I have read the first 100 pages of the book. The author assumes that you know something about programming, so it is not for absolute beginners. As long as you know the basics of progamming you should be fine. The book is divided into 2 sections: Core Python and advanced topics( regular expressions, network programming, Web programming, and threads, etc). He starts off with a crash course in python covering all major topics of python. Then he covers the topics in detail. I have read other python books before and this one is by far the best. The author is a very good writer. He writes in a very clear and logical manner. The topics are covered thorougly. I haven't seen many errors in the text, so that's good.

    Amazon UK

    ***** Extremely good introductory book, April 16, 2001
    Reviewer: Chris Lamb (chris at outlinepro.co.uk) from Edinburgh
    I have the fortune of most of the Python related books to refer to but this title is the one I always look at first. It has been invaluable while I have been learning the language. I would strongly recommend anyone interested in an introductory Python text toward it, even ahead of the "Learning Python" title.

    ***** Completely brilliant - the book to start with for Python, January 9, 2001
    Reviewer: kjohnston at rcsi.ie from Ireland
    This is a really excellent book. It brings beginners from no previous programming skills up to being adept programmers. It contains many useful and clear examples, introducing many modules. As a bonus it contains an excellent introductory chapter on CGI programming, which until now, has been hard to find. Hats off to Mr. Chun - it's what we've been waiting for!

    Amazon DE (Germany)

    ***** A must-have for the Python programmer, April 1, 2001
    Reviewer: korpilla at fmi.uni-passau.de from Ortenburg, Germany
    "Core Python" aims at the intermediate programmer, where intermediate means a programmer with more than novice knowledge about another language, most preferrably C/C++ or Java. This makes sense, since Python is most closely related to these languages, they're the logical choice for extending Python/JPython. Actually programmers familiar with these languages will get good hints in which aspects Python is different.

    The book is easy to read, as promised by the author, but some passages are really cramped with information. For use as a reference guide, this book is highly recommended. Tables summarize essential facts and give a good overview over key features. The books chapters are clearly related to their topics, and the topics are discussed in-depth. For example, when explaining garbage collection and memory allocation, useful facts as the reference-counting mechanism and the del command are explained, examples ease understanding. Unlike "Programming Python" from O'Reilly, this book is not only a collection of program samples, but fulfills its promise of teaching the "core" features of the language.

    Some advanced features are in my opinion mentioned a bit too early, except you already have an idea what the autor is talking about. I guess a novice programmer could learn the language by this book alone, since it is more than just a technical readout. But a steep learning curve would be the price, the O'Reilly book "Learning Python" would be a better recommendation, though still somewhat of a tough choice for the absolute novice. Unlike the O'Reilly books "Core Python" omits any Python-specific humor, it clearly aims at a professional audience, but its style makes you seem to inhale the facts, and that clearly compensates for that. The print of the book is not as well, especially the tables are too dark, as if colored graphics were printed black-white without any adjustment. This is especially surprising when keeping in mind the colorful wrapping of the book. Overall rating: A must-have for the Python programmer.


    comp.lang.python NEWSGROUP or MAILING LISTS

    From: David Mertz (mertz at gnosis.cx))
    Subject: Re: Books: Core Python Programming vs. Python Cookbook
    Date: 2003-01-07 15:01:08 PST

    sir_penguin.geo at yahoo.com (Neil MacMillan) wrote previously:
    > I'm a 1st year computer science student, but I've been teaching myself
    > Python as my first useful programming language
    > Core Python for explanations of specific things...
    > I looked at Python Cookbook, which seemed interesting too.

    Of these two, I would recommend Chun's book to someone just learning Python. In fact, of the more than half dozen introductory books, _Core Python_ is probably my favorite, but _Learning Python_ and _Python Bible_ are both good (avoid the Martin Brown titles at all costs; all the others are OK).

    From: Geoff Howland (ghowland@lupineNO.SPAMgames.com)
    Subject: Re: best way to learn
    Date: 2002-10-21 21:51:41 PST

    On Mon, 21 Oct 2002 20:20:20 -0700 (PDT), ed wrote:
    >Hey all. I'm a python newbie, but I have experience in other very
    high level languages, mainly php. I was wondering what is the best way to become proficient in python quickly?

    I would say this is similar for all languages. You should pick a
    project that interests you, but is not so complex you cant just start
    working on it, and that will drag you along having to learn the
    language.

    >Should I get a book, if so which one?
    >"Learning python", "programming python", "python cookbook"?
    >Or can I get pretty much everything I need on the web,
    >like a lot of good tutorials and some good language references?

    I found the python tutorial pages on the python.org site, and the
    modules to answer a lot of my inital questions. So they are a good
    part of it.

    I also bought 'Core Python Programming' by Wesley J. Chun (Prentice
    Hall) and it's been very useful. I use its tables on dict/string/list
    functions enough I should probably photocopy them, or get a memory.
    :)

    From: Janusz A. Urbanowicz (alex at bofh.org.pl)
    Subject: Re: Best book on Python?
    Date: 2001-09-20 04:29:54 PST

    "Ian Bolton" writes:
    > I've looked at Programming Python 2nd edition and it looks good,
    > but is it the best one out for an beginner-intermediate programmer?

    I'm quite content with having "Core Python Programming" by Wesley Chun. The book has two parts - a solid tour around the language, then a couple of sections on actual tasks like socket programming, TkInter, Web programming, REs etc.

    Alex

    From: Jay Parlar (jparlar at home.com)
    Subject: Re: newbie question
    Date: 2001-07-11 18:14:35 PST

    Bill Bell (bill-bell at bill-bell.hamilton.on.ca) wrote:
    > "crombie" (crombie88 at yahoo.com) wrote:
    > > so, i wanna learn python.
    > > i read the docs on python.org. what do i do now? is there like a
    > > website with a list of starter projects that need to be done in
    > > python to prove you know it and help you learn it?
    >
    > Wesley Chun's "Core Python" has an excellent reputation. Wesley
    > himself is very helpful on the tutorial list.
    >
    > Bill

    To reiterate what Bill said in his post, buy Wesley Chun's book. At the end of every chapter there are a good number of chapter related exercises. Chun tries to cover most of the chapter's topics in these problems, and they really helped me learn Python. I seriously can't recommend this book enough. It's a fantastic piece of work.

    Jay P.

    From: Arthur Watts (arthur.watts at gbst.com)
    Subject: [Tutor] Manuals/books
    Date: Tue, 15 May 2001 08:05:02 +1000

    ... Over the last 18 or so months, I have purchased each of these books:

  • Teach Yourself Python in 24 Hours
  • Learning Python
  • Programming Python
  • Python Essential Reference
  • Core Python Programming
  • Python Annotated Archives

    I admit that the sheer novelty of seeing new Python books on the shelves may have promoted some of these purchases. I also have an extensive library of other programming / IT titles, so I like to think I can tell a good book from one which has been cobbled together just to cash in on a language's popularity (just browse thru some of the Java titles out there today ...). Of the titles I have listed, my favourites are the Essential Reference and Core Python Programming.

    Learning Python is also very well written, but I tend to be of the 'quickly show me the principle and a short example and I'll take it from here' breed, and the other two are very good for this. Reading books is no substitute for writing code and internalising the results for yourself (a lot of Python's subtleties aren't evident from simply scanning someone else's code ..), but they do give you a good basis to work from. I have been forced to revisit the theory in Mark Lutz's books on a couple of occasions when my impatience has gotten me onto trouble with my implementation of a Python construct....

    Regards,

    Arthur

    From: Sheila King (sheila at thinkspot.net)
    Subject: [Tutor] Python book suggestion please
    Date: Fri, 04 May 2001 20:27:27 -0700

    I have these three Python books:

    Programming Python, 2nd ed. Mark Lutz. Assumes that you already know Python. If you felt really comfortable after working through the Tutorial that comes with the standard distribution, and were already up and writing scripts, this might be a good book. Not concise. But, has an index. Lots of examples. Lots. Huge book.

    Core Python Programming. Wesley Chun. Assumes you already know some other high level programming language. Starts with a nice overview chapter, and then has a chapter on each topic which goes into more detail. My favorite of the three I have. Not as big as Programming Python, 2nd ed, and the print is larger. Lighter to read. Many examples.

    Quick Python. Daryl Harms and Kenneth McDonald. An extremely concise overview for someone who already knows how to program in another language. Small and compact. I haven't looked at this one quite as much. A fair number of examples. Most examples are snippets, rather than full programs.

    -- Sheila King

    From: Timothy Wilson (wilson at visi.com)
    Subject: [Tutor] Python book suggestion please
    Date: Fri, 4 May 2001 07:09:43 -0500 (CDT)

    On Fri, 4 May 2001, Daniel Yoo wrote:
    > 4. Wesley Chun has just written "Core Python Programming", and since
    > he's one of the tutor at python.org list operators, it would be simply
    > criminal not to mention his book. (Ahem.) I've heard good things about
    > it, but haven't had the chance to buy it yet.

    Well I've had the chance to buy and read most of it. It's excellent. Wesley's book is probably the best I've read so far. I like the mix of basic and more advanced topics at the end. The exercises in the back of the chapter are the best I've seen. (I plan to steal liberally from them next year when I teach my Python class :-)

    -Tim

    From: Jason Cunliffe (jasonic at nomadicsltd.com)
    Subject: Re: Python Books for 2002
    Date: 2001-04-16 08:46:58 PST

    "Carlos Alberto Reis Ribeiro" (cribeiro at mail.inet.com.br) wrote:
    > So, what is needed is:
    >
    > - a book that doest not suppose that readers are stupid, BUT
    > - does not go so far as assuming that they already know everything.
    >
    > This is a very hard balance to achieve... No surprise that few books ever
    > achieve it.

    I recommend that of all the Python books thus far, 'Core Python Programming' by Wesley Chun has this balance.

    -- Jason

    From: Bo Vandenberg (bosahv at netscapenospam.net)
    Subject: Re: Newbie needs book advice
    Date: 2001-04-14 22:06:01 PST

    I don't know about the Mac flavour of Python but the best book for me has been "Core Python Programming" by Wesley J. Chun. Its really well laid out. Its one of the more recent books too. Published by Prentice Hall.

    bo

    From: chris (chrislamb at btinternet.com)
    Subject: Re: learning python...
    Date: 2001-03-24 03:36:57 PST

    Benjamin.Altman wrote:
    > Hello. From the perspective of someone who already has programming
    > experience, would anyone know if O'reillys "Learning Python" book would
    > be better than say Prentice Hall's "Core Python Programming"? Or would
    > it be better to go straight into something like "Programming Python"?

    "Core Python Programming" from PH is easily the better book for easing into Python. I am an O'Reilly fan and generally buy their books blind if it is on a subject I am interested in (since they very rarely disappoint). However on this occassion the PH book is a genuinely good book and worth buying, considerably more than the Learning Python book and the 2e version of Programming Python.

    My opinion!

    Chris

    From: alan runyan (runyaga at thisbox.com)
    Subject: Re: Please rate these Python books
    Date: 2001-03-21 20:18:08 PST

    how are you approaching python? what is your level of experience w/ python? what kinda books do you like? reference, explanatory, or 'by example' ? My favorite is Essential Reference, David Beazley did a incredible job.

    1/Programming Python 2nd edition at O'reilly
    Very big, has quite a bit of information (4-5 chapters) on Tkinter (which I dont use at all), socket programming (which I do use), internet applications (HTMLgen, ZOPE, etc). The book is massive and has small type face, packed full of information. Examples tend to be a bit longer than Core Python. If you want tons of information and especially plan on using Tkinter, this is definetly the best book out of the three. I feel this book is very good and tends to get a bit more detailed than Core Python, but I only use ~40% of the information.

    2/ Core Python Programming / Chun / Prentice Hall
    I recommended a friend of mine this book, and I read quite a bit of it. Very well laid out, nice type face, very good (brief) examples. I would recommend this book. My friend read Core Python and Programming Ruby at the same time -- comparing the two languages. At first he didnt like it, but after he finished it he said it was a *very* good intro and has a very idea of python now. *NOTE* he finished the book. I wouldnt imagine finishing Programming Python. He also concluded Ruby didnt offer anything else that Python didnt have (that he would use) and likes the elegance.

    3/ Python Essential Reference / David Beazley / New Riders Publishing
    My favorite python book, great reference book if you already know python, or like Nutshell books. type face is very small ;( but its compact and full of all sorts of goodies. not as many examples as a newbie would like. at work, all the people who use python, snatch this from each others desk. if you like books and already familiar w/ python -- this is a must.

    cheers,
    ~runyaga

    From: chris (chrislamb at btinternet.com)
    Subject: Re: Newbie needs book advice
    Date: 2001-04-15 00:56:03 PST

    May I repeat what has already been said: Core Python Programming is also an excellent book. I also have the Mark Lutz book but would have sorely missed the CPP book by Chun while I have been learning the language the last couple of months.

    Good luck and enjoy yourself! I have found Python great to develop with,

    Chris

    From: Jason Cunliffe (jasonic at nomadicsltd.com)
    Subject: Great New Book
    Date: 2000-12-28 19:41:47 PST

    This morning I wes very happy to see in my local Barnes&Noble today a prominent stack of an excellent new book: 'Core Python Programming' by Wesley Chun.

    IMHO This is #1 the best written book on Python I have yet set eyes on. Wesley Chun has a deceptively clear prose style, and strikes a clean balance between the obvious but essential, yet carefully elucidating famous pythonic topics.

    I really thingk this is the most suitable entry text for Python which presently exists. It is writen with grace and skill by an author who obviously wnows his topic. It lays a great foundation. I truly look forwards to any more volumes he may produce in this series.

    The only shame is not the author's fault - it is the still crazy high price $45 and thick paper which bulks the 760 pages to 2.5" thick. I wish american publishers would stop this telphone book web publishing madness & follow the example set by Korean technical books I have seen - thin paper, larger comfortable format, plenty of color and excellent step by step illustrations.

    - Jason


    MISCELLANEOUS WEBSITES

    BIG WEBMASTER WEBSITE (main link)

    In Core Python Programming, Internet software engineer and technical trainer Wesley Chun provides intermediate and experienced developers all they need to know to learn Python -- fast. Like all Core Series books, Core Python Programming delivers hundreds of industrial-strength code snippets and examples, all targeted at professional developers who want to leverage their existing skills! In particular, Core Python Programming presents numerous interactive examples that can be entered into the Python interpreter right in front of you! Finally, we present a chapter that shows you step-by-step how to extend Python using C or C++. Topics include: Python syntax and style; Development and Run-time Environments; Objects and Python memory management; Standard data types, methods, and operators; Loops and conditionals; Files and Input/Output; Exceptions and error handling; Functions, scope, arguments, and functional programming; Extending Python.

    PYTHON LIBERATION FRONT WEBSITE (main link)

    ... [If] I could only own one Python book, it would be "Core Python" by Wesley Chun.... [It] manages to cover more topics in more depth than "Learning Python" but includes it all in one book that also more than adequately covers the core language.... The author's style may be somewhat ... informal, but he has a real knack for explaining programming ideas in print in such a way as to ideally help the reader to get things working in the real world. I consider this quite a feat and for this reason I love the book and I often refer to it first....

    This book uses a nice, big type face that is very easy to read, and that is especially appreciated when studying the code samples.... [If] you are in the market for just one book about Python, I recommend this book. You will enjoy reading it, including its wry programmer's wit. More importantly, you will learn Python. Even more importantly, you will find it invaluable in helping you in your day to day Python programming life. Well done, Mr. Chun!

    USELESS PYTHON WEBSITE (main link)

    ... [My] highest praise goes to two books designed to help explain intermediate and advanced topics. Programming Python 2nd Edition by Mark Lutz is a very conversational tutorial of real world Python. And Core Python Programming by Wesley J. Chun covers basic concepts in depth before proceeding to more advanced topics, with exercises at the end of each chapter to encourage hands-on practice at each step along the way. These two books seem (to me) to have given Python newbies a lot of great material to explore together on the Python Tutor Email List and in other forums.

    VARIOUS MAILING LISTS AND FORUMS

    MP3Car.com Forums Software & Software Development (main link)

    From: s003apr
    Subject: advice for starting out in VB programming
    Date: 02-05-2005, 08:46 PM

    I would not recommend VB. I really do think that it will be losing ground to better languages in the very near future. I think the best language for beginners is Python, without a doubt. My favorite book is "Core Python Programming". Plus there are some python front-ends for car software that other users around here have been working on that would make good examples for learning more.

    Dev Shed Forums Python Programming (main link)

    From: ptonman
    Subject: Python Newbies
    Date: August 29th, 2002, 07:56 PM

    If you learn well from books, I suggest 'Core Python Programming' by Wesley Chun. It is by far the best I've found. I'm a Python newbie as well and in 3 months time I've been able to implement Python in projects at work (automating MSOffice, SQL DB stuff, etc.).

    ZopeNewbies Mailing List (main link)

    From: runyaga
    Subject: Programming Python is Too Big!
    Date: 20 Jul 2001 10:11 AM

    > "Those of us in O'Reilly Editorial were, well, shocked when we saw
    > the size of the book..... I contracted with Mark Lutz for a 400-page
    > book on Python; what he delivered was twice that size. He later
    > admitted to me that he was afraid O'Reilly would publish only one
    > Python book, so he decided to put everything he could think of into
    > the first book."

    I dont really like the book. ;( I think its ok. but I dont use TKinter. I would much prefer to use wxWindows. And the book is entirely too large and too verbose for what its trying to accomplish - a definitive guide. I think Core Python by Wesley Chun does a much better job at introducing and explaining how the language works.

    ~runyaga


    DESCRIPTIONS/REVIEWS IN OTHER LANGUAGES

  • Spanish description
    Una guía rápida y clara, muy asequible a todos los públicos pues no asume conocimientos previos ni experiencia similar. Revisa Python 1.6, el tratamiento de las expresiones regulares, extensiones de Python y el paradigma de la orientación a objetos. Incluye vario ejemplos aunque no son de una gran complejidad.

  • Italian review
    Con Core Python Programming è stata coperta una "mancanza editoriale" che consisteva, appunto, nell’assenza di un testo ordinato e coerente che spiegasse bene il linguaggio di Guido Van Rossum. È molto completo ed è consigliato a tutti i programmatori Python, soprattutto a quelli che vogliono avvicinarvisi.

  • Japanese translation of IBM Developer Works review (see above)

  • Chinese translation of IBM Developer Works review (see above)
  • Chinese retail description

  • Korean translation of IBM Developer Works review (see above)
  • Korean retail description

    CONSULTING WORLD

    C. R. Timmons Consulting

    Python is simply a beautiful language. It's easy to learn, it's cross-platform, and it works. It has achieved many of the technical goals that Java strives for. A one sentence description of Python would be: "All other languages appear to have evolved over time - but Python was designed". And it was designed well.... Unfortunately, there aren't a large number of books for Python. The best one I've run across so far is Core Python Programming.

    MLM Consulting

    If you like the Prentice-Hall Core Programming series, another good full-blown treatment to consider would be Core Python Programming; it addresses in elaborate concrete detail many practical topics that get little, if any, coverage in other books.


    [Core Python Programming]
    [powered by Python]
  • © 2001-2005 CyberWeb Consulting
    cyberweb_consulting (at) yahoo (dot) com